Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Slide
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Location:
N4711 Highway 27
Ladysmith, WI 54848

Tele: (715) 532-2633
Shop Tele:
(715) 532-2634
Fax:
(715) 532-2641

Find us on Facebook

Oversight Committee:
Highway Committee

Hours:
6:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Monday thru Thursday

Commissioner:

Scott R. Emch, P.E.
semch@ruskcountywi.us

Asst. to the Hwy. Commissioner/Financial Administrator:
Nanci A. Mertes
nanci@ruskcountywi.us

Financial Accountant II:
Marlon Parker
mparker@ruskcountywi.us

Operation Manager:
Tim Meyer
tmeyer@ruskcountywi.us

State Section Foreman:
Ben Jiskra
bjiskra@ruskcountywi.us

Financial Accountant I:
Deb Fetting
dfetting@ruskcountywi.us
               


Highway Home

Highway Committee:

Jerry Biller – Highway Chair
N6100 Hwy. 73
Glen Flora, WI  54526
(715) 322-5621
jbiller@ruskcountywi.us

Lyle Lieffring – Committee Supervisor
N4868 Pieper Rd.
Weyerhaeuser, WI  54895
(715) 353-2542
Cell: (715) 296-0649
llieffring@ruskcountywi.us Robert Stout – Highway Vice-Chair
N5927 Bell School Rd.
Ladysmith, WI  54848
(715) 415-1406
bstout@ruskcountywi.us

Michael D. Hraban – Committee Supervisor
721 Lake Ave, E
Ladysmith, WI  54848
(715) 532-6797
mhraban@ruskcountywi.us

Kenneth Pedersen – Committee Supervisor
W7249 CTH P
Ladysmith, WI  54848
(715) 532-6549
kpedersen@ruskcountywi.us


Highway Committee Meeting Date Change from August 20th to August 13th, 2018.

 CLICK ON THE TAB TO THE LEFT “DETOURS & ROAD/BRIDGE CLOSINGS” TO GET THE LATEST INFORMATION ON ROAD/BRIDGE CLOSINGS AND DETOURS.

  2018 HIGHWAY PROJECTS

CTH I – US Hwy 8 North for 3.11 Miles. – Pulverize & Pave.

CTH B – Intersection of CTH B & CTH P to Circle Drive. – Pulverize & Pave .57 miles.

CTH B – Circle Drive North to US Hwy 8.  - Overlay 3.15 miles. 

Highway Mission Statement:

  • To work cooperatively in promoting, developing, and prioritizing improvements to and safety of State and County Highway’s in Rusk County.
  • To secure the provision of safe and efficient travel and economic growth on State and County Highway’s located in Rusk County.
  • To work in cooperation with neighboring Districts, Local Townships and Villages, City of Ladysmith, Wisconsin Department of Transportation, and the Rusk County Board of Supervisors, as well as any other authorities associated with the development of Rusk County Highways.
  • To identify short-term needs of Rusk County highways and to develop costs associated with those needs.
  • To study long-term needs from a safety perspective first, and also from an economic perspective.
  • To develop a long-range plan including the scope of improvements and the costs associated with those improvements.
  • To submit project proposals and grant requests to the proper authorities and district offices in order to secure available funds for the development, growth, and safety of Rusk County Highways.

General Information:

The Highway Department carries out general and winter maintenance in order to fulfill its responsibilities to maintain travel safety and convenience on all county and state highways, in addition to a number of local roads in Rusk County.

General maintenance includes: patching, crack filling and replacement of pavement; shoulder maintenance, roadside mowing and brush control; bridge and culvert maintenance; litter and trash pickup; guard rail installation and repair; signing’ pavement marking; traffic control, and traffic signal maintenance.

Winter maintenance includes: installation of snow fence; ice control; salting and sanding; snowplowing, and snow removal.

Additionally, the department carries out road construction, pavement resurfacing (blacktopping), plus bridge and culvert repair and installation, and bridge inspections. Planning, engineering and administration are also an essential function of the department.